Certification Process
Management Systems Certification
The certification process is defined in the international standard ISO 17021-1 and all accredited certification bodies follow the processes laid out in the standard.
The key stages in the certification process are
  • Client application
  • Initial Audit
  • Certification decision making
  • Surveillance
  • Reassessments

    Certification Process

    The Audit Process

    The audit process follows the requirements laid out in ISO 17021, the accreditation standard for management systems certification. The aim of the standard is that audits are carried out in a consistent and impartial manner.

    The audit process includes the following steps

    • Initial Audit
    • Stage 1
    • Stage 2
    • Certification
    • Surveillance Audit
    • Recertification Audit
    Initial Audit

    The initial audit is the process by which we determine if your management systems complies with the requirements of management system standard being audited and that the management systems has been fully implemented and is functioning properly.
    This is done in 2 stages, with both visits usually being carried out at the client’s site.
    The objectives of Stage 1 are:

    • To audit the client's management system documentation and gain an understanding of the client’s business activities, processes and collect necessary information.
    • To the review clients understanding of the audit standard and confirm suitable processes, objectives and key aspects have been identified.
    • To confirm the level of implementation justifies proceeding to Stage 2 and that planned arrangements are suitable
    • The objectives of Stage 2 are: to audit and evaluate the implementation, including effectiveness, of the client's management system.
    Surveillance Audit

    Surveillance audits are carried out each year to confirm that your management system continues to fully implemented and functioning such that the management system achieves the desired company objectives.

    • The objectives of the surveillance visit are: to gather evidence that the client’s certified management system continues to fulfil requirements.
    Recertification Audit

    Each certification cycle is 3 years and prior to the end of each certification cycle a recertification audit is carried out. This audit is a slimmed down version of the initial audit and usually only comprises a Stage 2 visit.

    • The objectives of the visit are: to evaluate the continued fulfilment of all of the requirements of the relevant management system standard and to confirm the continued conformity and effectiveness of the management system as a whole, and its continued relevance and applicability for the scope of certification.
    © Copyright amtri veritas